The least of these.

“I was hungry and you fed me,
I was thirsty and you gave me a drink,
I was homeless and you gave me a room,
I was shivering and you gave me clothes,
I was sick and you stopped to visit,
I was in prison and you came to me.’

Then those ‘sheep’ are going to say, ‘Master, what are you talking about? When did we ever see you hungry and feed you, thirsty and give you a drink? And when did we ever see you sick or in prison and come to you?’ Then the King will say, ‘ I’m telling the solemn truth: Whenever you did one of these things to someone overlooked or ignored, that was me—you did it to me.”

That’s what it says in Matthew 25:35-40.

This past week a friend of mine got hold of me and told me how her 13 year old daughter and her cousin who is on holiday from the UK wanted to bake muffins for our refugees and bring them up at the weekend. I told her what a great idea and left them to it. Friday I got another message from her telling me how that girls and all the siblings had spent the day baking 200 muffins and were going to be coming to the farm to deliver on Saturday afternoon.

Hope Farm2

On Saturday afternoon the Lee family and their family members who are on holiday from the UK came to Hope Farm with enough muffins for everyone! What an amazing blessing. They handed out the muffins and spent the rest of the afternoon playing with the children and loving on the adults.

Hope Farm5

When they left I sat and talked to some of the women about what had just happened. My sweet friend Omba got very emotional and with tears in her eyes she tells me that she could taste the love of God in her muffin, I asked her what she meant and her reply was

” I knew that the muffin was made with love, not just any love but the love of God. These children took their time and their money to do something special for us. They didn’t even know us but they showed us love, the love of God. That is the kind of thing that changes the world. A muffin made with love!”

Its really that easy folks. So many have asked how they can help us to help our new family. Its really as simple as muffins. Or as simple as donating food or funds for food. Our storeroom is getting low and we really need help to fill it. YOU can help us to do that!

Here is an idea of what we need….

Onions, cabbage, tomatoes, bread, oil, chilies, potatoes, butternut, pumpkin, apples, oranges,  meat, nappies\diapers, wetwipes,

Another way that you can help is by purchasing a tent for a family. At the moment half of our village is separated men\women and children. They have not lived together for over 5 months now due to being in the refugee camps and now on the farm. Our desire is to reunite the families so that they can make a start on healing.

11750707_10153014553536932_6499959984874322830_n

Each family tent costs R1300, £66 or $104

That small amount of money radically changes the life of a family. We are still needing 6-8 tents.

So now i have told you our needs how can you help? If you are in the Durban area you can drop donations to Hope’s Closet in Layed Back, Old Main Road in Hillcrest, opposite the police station. OR if you are far away\overseas you can donate via our PayPal account….

USER NAME: downseyluff@aol.com

Paypal is the easiest and cheapest and quickest way to donate money. EVERY penny, EVERY donation helps.

Lets take this opportunity to love with a love that changes the world!

Love from the Downs family. x

Leave a comment